[English] Exclusive interview with Pierre Bouvier

ONLY ON ONLY SIMPLE PLAN
This interview is copy right protected.
 

It’s exactly 7PM when my phone calls. It’s Atlantic Records calling back saying they have Pierre on the line ready to talk.

Pierre starts with telling me that the reception is bad on the bus where he is so we both have to talk loud. But we had to remind each other about that a lot of times.

 

Okay, what gets your heart on?

To play music, playing shows and see all the fans. To hang with my friends and family.

 

If you weren’t in the band, what would you be doing?

I’d be screwed. I don’t have any backup plans.

 

What’s your best/favourite studio memory?

Right in the beginning of our career when we recorded the first record. We couldn’t afford a hotel so we had to sleep in the studio. We spent all our days there.

 

What’s your favourite video shoot so far?

They were all cool and funny to do, especially the first time when we had a lot of cameras turned to us.

 

What’s the worst thing that has happened out on the road?

It happened a long time ago, right in the start of our career. We were on the bus, it was in the middle of the night and we were sleeping. And suddenly the bus driver fell asleep behind the wheel and we crashed in a ditch. Luckily no one was hurt, but we were very chocked. Because that could have ended up bad.

 

How do you feel about touring the world again?

It will be fun, I’m excited about seeing all my favourite places and all the fans. And to see new things.

 

So, you’ve been doing this for a while now. When you think back, is there anything you would want to change?

No, I don’t actually. Everything happens for a reason and you shouldn’t change that. I’m happy with my life and my career, I’ve had a very good career.

 

How do you react when a fan comes with a SP-tattoo?

I get very happy, it means that we have affected their lives and that they like our music. Hopefully they will wanna wear it for the rest of their lives.

 

A lot of fans send you their artwork like pictures and videos, do you watch everything?

I try to watch as much as possible, but it’s impossible to see everything. When I’m online on Twitter and our other pages I watch everything that’s sent to me right then and I love it. it’s amazing, everybody are so talented. But have I seen it all? Absolutely not. Keep them coming!

 

What do you value most in other people?

Friendship, how they are as friends. And if they can depend on them or not. If they’re someone you can turn to when times are tough. And if they can give you good advice. But the most important is that you can depend on them.

 

If you could trade places with someone for a day, who would it be?

I don’t wanna trade places with anyone. I’m a very lucky guy and happy with my life exactly like this.

 

If you wake up tomorrow and find out that you rule the world, what’s the first thing you would change?

I would choose someone else. I don’t think anyone should rule the world, the world should be a place in peace and harmony where everybody can live together.

 

Do you miss having Patrick with you all the time?

Sometimes I do. After all he was our guy. But everything has its time.

 

Do you feel like you’re getting older or will you be forever young?

I feel that my age gets older and older for every year, but not my heart. In my heart I’m still young and crazy and I don’t think I’ll ever feel old. But maybe that’s because of what I do and my lifestyle.

 

What do you do on a day off?

I jump into my car and go to a place where I can surf. I don’t have time to surf that much, but it’s one of the best things I know. I wish I could do it much often.

 

What’s your favourite food from Sweden?

It’s salmon. You eat a lot of salmon, right? (He says it in Swedish, which is lax)

 

Guess what, that was all of my questions…

Thank you so much for your time and that you interviewed me. It was very fun, I’ll see you soon in Sweden!

Thank you for your time.

 

We hang up, I have a big smile on my face because I interviewed Pierre. and Pierre continues his tour through America with Simple Plan and the others that play on Warped Tour 2011

 

Interviewer: Emelie Strandberg

Editor: Julia Wagner

Banner: Sandra Inkilä

Thank you: Pierre Bouvier, Atlantic Records, Warner Music